Teaching is my calling ~ No use in trying to fight it, I might as well write about it… (Amy)

My student's Greek mythology presentation visuals.

My student’s Greek mythology presentation visuals.

“We cannot hold a torch to light another’s path without brightening our own.”
― Ben Sweetland

My 2012 felt very much like Heather’s last post. I did experience many incredibly meaningful experiences but the year seemed to flash by in an instant. Our blog posts were horribly mismanaged and non-existent, though in passing we always promised each other we would write. This year Heather and I have planned a monthly “blog date” and I am going to hold her to it. In fact, I think our writing adventure is creeping up. How fun it will be to write together again! Heather and I have a fascinating relationship that reaches back to our education classes at Northern Michigan University. We have so much in common that we do not have another choice; we are fated to be friends. I have a feeling that 2013 is going to be a marvelous year for us. We are finally going to find the words that we have been searching after for so many years.

One of my resolutions for 2013 was to make time to write beyond my classroom. I started a blog, Produce, in hopes that I could separate the teacher and writer and health enthusiast that I am. Ultimately, I am finding that I am failing miserably. Though I have three posts under my belt, I am finding that the material that is feeding my blog comes straight from my classroom. Teaching is my calling and it cannot be avoided. The post that I wrote today comes straight from my 9th grade English classroom where we are studying Greek Mythology. If you, like me, are obsessed with the myth of Persephone and Hades you might want to take a peek at a recipe I created on my new blog, Produce. Maybe I will whip up Heather a Jeweled Ambrosia Green Smoothie to help inspire our 2013 blog posts!

Athena by a 9th grade student.

Athena by a 9th grade student.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

